Turning 30 – Celebrating At The Savoy 

This month was very special for me, not only is it my birthday month, it is a landmark birthday this year. This May I said farewell to my twenties and hello to a brand new decade.

The only way to celebrate the 30 year birthday milestone in my opinion, is in absolute style. The Savoy on The Strand with its world famous champagne afternoon tea was the perfect setting. The grand entrance was beautifully presented with cascades of pink orchids erupting in the centre of the foyer which led through to the atrium where afternoon tea is served.


A glass dome in the ceiling bathes the atrium in brilliant natural light. Directly beneath and housed in a gazebo is a grand piano where a pianist serenades guests whilst they dine on a selection of finger sandwiches, scones and an assortment of cakes and pastries.


The range of teas on offer is impressive, and rather than opt for my regular English Breakfast, I decided to try the White Peony and Rose Tea; peonies are my favourite flower so how could I resist? I wasn’t disappointed either. The peony rose tea was so fragrant and delicate and I now have to have it in my home.


Sandwiches consisted of:

Roast beef of sirloin with tarragon cream and cucumber on brown bread

Coronation chicken on olive bread

Scottish smoked salmon with lemon infused creme fraiche and watercress on brown bread

Egg salad with mustard cress on white bread

Mozzarella, beef tomato, basil and balsamic glaze on herb and spinach bread

My favourites were the coronation chicken and the roast beef, so much so that we had these particular sandwiches replenished during the course of our sitting. Of course it simply wouldn’t be afternoon tea without scones accompanied with strawberry preserve, Cornish clotted cream and homemade lemon curd.

After that incredible first and second course, the final act in this extravagant tea sitting was the beautiful array of desserts:

Raspberry tartlet with vanilla scented lemon cream, raspberry bavarois, shortcrust pastry garnished with edible flowers

Strawberry macaroon

Apricot delice with Pinot Grigio mousse

Dark chocolate sponge with bitter chocolate mousse

Coffee and hazelnut eclair with coffee Chantilly


With a glass of Moët & Chandon rose champagne, this was afternoon tea at its finest. It was such a wonderful way to celebrate my milestone birthday and all of us enjoyed this special experience – we’ve even decided to make champagne afternoon tea at The Savoy an annual tradition from now on.

Related Posts:

Mews Of Mayfair Afternoon Tea

Social-Network-Facebook-iconimg_3359instagram-icon_1057-2227pinterest

teacupmoment@gmail.com

